Open Quick Links

eLearning


eLearning Days:

Brown County Schools will use an eLearning Day for every school closure that takes place due to inclement weather unless there are consecutive days of school closure. If there is a need for consecutive closure(s) after the eLearning Day, those days will be made up as a Snow Makeup Day.

Dr. Hammack will make an announcement regarding the school day status (eLearning Day or Snow Makeup Day) every time that school is closed due to inclement weather.

2019-2020 eLearning Day Plan (PDF)

Continuous Learning Plan 2020

In response to the school closings due to COVID-19, Brown County Schools has developed the following plan for continued student learning through the completion of the 2019-2020 academic year.

Continuous Learning Plan (PDF)(Google Doc)

Contacts

Building Principals:

HES/Mrs. Kelli Bruner:  kbruner@browncountyschools.com
SES/Mr. Shane Killinger:  skillinger@browncountyschools.com
VBES/Mr. Gavin Steele:  gsteele@browncountyschools.com
BCIS/Mr. Trent Austin:  taustin@browncountyschools.com
BCJHS/Mr. Brian Garman:  bgarman@browncountyschools.com
BCHS/Mr. Matthew Stark:  mstark@browncountyschools.com

BCS Director of Technology, Mr. David Phelpsdphelps@browncountyschools.com

BCS Superintendent, Dr. Laura Hammacklhammack@browncountyschools.com  812-988-6601 X1101  **I will be in the office unless there is a “Warning” travel status that only allows emergency providers to be on the roads.

Getting Started

Need help?  Check out the Technology Helpdesk Parent and Student links.

Using Canvas

Brown County Schools will use the Canvas platform to deliver instruction for eLearning days.  For information on Canvas, including navigation, notifications, and troubleshooting, visit http://browncountyschools.com/academics/canvas/

Information on 1:1

BCS has devices assigned to all K-12 students.  In grades K-4, those devices are located in classroom carts.  In 5-6, those devices are assigned to homerooms and students take them around during the day.  In grades 7-12, student devices are allowed to go home with students.  For more information on 1:1, visit http://browncountyschools.com/academics/11-technology-initiative/

Sending Messages Through Skyward

  1. Log in to Skyward Family Access
  2. Go to Gradebook in the left menu
    emailSkyward1.png
  3. Click the name of the teacher that you are contacting
    emailSkyward2.png
  4. Click the email address of the teacher in the pop-up window
    emailSkyward3.png
  5. Write your message and click send!