Open Quick Links

eLearning Days


eLearning Day Plan:

Brown County Schools will use an eLearning Day for every school closure that takes place due to inclement weather unless there are consecutive days of school closure. If there is a need for consecutive closure(s) after the eLearning Day, those days will be made up as a Snow Makeup Day.

Example:
School is closed on Monday due to inclement weather: eLearning Day
School is in session on Tuesday: normal school day
School is in session on Wednesday: normal school day
School is closed on Thursday due to inclement weather – eLearning Day
School is closed on Friday due to inclement weather – Snow Makeup Day

Dr. Hammack will make an announcement regarding the school day status (eLearning Day or Snow Makeup Day) every time that school is closed due to inclement weather.

Building Principals:

HES/Mrs. Kelli Bruner:  kbruner@browncountyschools.com
SES/Mr. Shane Killinger:  skillinger@browncountyschools.com
VBES/Mr. Gavin Steele:  gsteele@browncountyschools.com
BCIS/Mr. Trent Austin:  taustin@browncountyschools.com
BCJHS/Mr. Brian Garman:  bgarman@browncountyschools.com
BCHS/Mr. Matthew Stark:  mstark@browncountyschools.com

BCS Director of Technology, Mr. David Phelpsdphelps@browncountyschools.com

BCS Superintendent, Dr. Laura Hammacklhammack@browncountyschools.com  812-988-6601 X1101  **I will be in the office unless there is a “Warning” travel status that only allows emergency providers to be on the roads.

 

2019-2020 eLearning Day Plan (PDF)

Sending Messages Through Skyward

  1. Log in to Skyward Family Access
  2. Go to Gradebook in the left menu
    emailSkyward1.png
  3. Click the name of the teacher that you are contacting
    emailSkyward2.png
  4. Click the email address of the teacher in the pop-up window
    emailSkyward3.png
  5. Write your message and click send!

Getting Started

Logging into Canvas as a student

  1. Go to https://brownco.instructure.com or click the Student Canvas link in the Quick Links bar at the top of the school website
  2. Enter the student’s username.  This is the first portion of the email address (jdoe21) but do not use their entire email address (@browncountyschools.com).
  3. Enter the student’s password and press enter.

Logging into Clever as a student

  1. Go to https://clever.com/in/browncountyschools or click the Clever Portal link in the Quick Links bar at the top of the school website
  2. Choose to “Log in with Google”
  3. Enter the student’s email address including @browncountyschools.com.  This can be found in the student info tab in Skyward.
  4. Enter the student’s password and press enter.

Using Canvas

Brown County Schools will use the Canvas platform to deliver instruction for eLearning days.  For information on Canvas, including navigation, notifications, and troubleshooting, visit http://browncountyschools.com/academics/canvas/

Information on 1:1

BCS has devices assigned to all K-12 students.  In grades K-4, those devices are located in classroom carts.  In 5-6, those devices are assigned to homerooms and students take them around during the day.  In grades 7-12, student devices are allowed to go home with students.  For more information on 1:1, visit http://browncountyschools.com/academics/11-technology-initiative/