Open Quick Links

Iowa Test of Basic Skills (ITBS)

Who takes this test?

  • Levels 5 and 6 are intended for students in Grades K and 1.
  • Levels 7 and 8 are intended for students in Grades 2 and 3.
  • Levels 9 through 14 are intended for students in Grade 4 and beyond.


For more information, see this document.

What is ITBS


Brown County Schools has selected the ITBS, Form C as the measure of Achievement administered to ALL students at selected grade levels as part of the K-12 search for high ability students required by law. It also addresses testing requirements for schools under the No Child Left Behind Act (NCLB).

The ITBS is group administered by licensed educators. The Iowa Tests offer educators a diagnostic look at how students are progressing in key academic areas, and offer diagnostic data that can be used to create intervention groups and to drive curricular decisions.